Limit your own choices for clarity

I was recently somewhere without open internet and I had also previously broken my very fast, very capable phone.

Opps.

I had to get a new phone with only factory installed apps.

Meaning: I could not access the usual social media accounts (facebook, instagram, wordpress, you name it) without a successful connection via VPN. At first, like many addicted to ‘the internet’ or rather ‘social media’ I was in a bit of a panic, but then after a couple of days, I’d forgotten all about it and now that I have access to ‘free internet’ again, I’m thinking twice about going back to using my social media.

I was forced into an uncomfortable place. Not being hyperconnected to the world for 2 weeks, but then I realized that even without being connected, I was alright. I didn’t miss much on facebook, nor on instagram as I had my important contacts on other forms of communication. It was alright and my life was much more simpler as I was not distracting myself with a pull down refresh on one of the apps every 5 minutes or so.

I was living in the present.

Now that I’m back home, I don’t see myself going back to my old ways (which I’d come to realize was a huge time waster and a fast ticket to nowhere.)

So the point of this post:

Have you ever been forced to do something you didn’t want to but come out with more clarity than before?

One thought on “Limit your own choices for clarity

Leave a Reply

