I’m on the go again!

It’s currently 4:03AM as I write this. I’m currently sitting in the waiting lounge of Seattle Tacoma Airport’s International Terminal. Yes. I’m on the move again. Let’s just say after 8 months back on this coast, one term of Computer Science I am so ready to jet off.

As I wait for my 5AM flight, I have the time right now to do some reflections rather than doze off back to sleep.

Let’s start off by saying that I learned a A LOT in the first half of the year. Academic wise, I started from not knowing anything about Computer Science other than basic HTML and CSS to coding a fully functional and responsive website. I learned about the front end and backend languages and development. Not only was I introduced to web development, I was also taught Java and Python and of course, version control tool Git.

And of course, every programmer’s favorite: the command line.

Yes. It has been a really thrilling ride, the past 6 months, somedays I’m at school the entire day working on stuff (with side procrastination of course, and mentally not coping very well, as I was dreaming of that better place far off elsewhere.)

But I’m happy to say that I made it, that I used my time wisely overall and has been able to walk away with a great experience, despite all the stress, cups of caffeine consumed, frustration and several ‘almost’ mental breakdowns.

Here’s what I summarized that really helped me get through the past 8 months of being back on this coast.

1. Value Hardwork: As I saw over and over again this term, hard work pays off. Hard work is the only way to cover all your bases and set you apart from others. This ties in with #3. You have to be present to do good work.

2. Exercise: This was definitely something I took for granted when I wasn’t working 12 hours a day while sitting down. Exercising is super super important if your career of choice is sedentary. Also on top of that stress, you’ll actually want to meal prep as well so you don’t break the wallet. I have to say this term at least, I’ve learned to throw together ingredients that make tasty recipes, think self made Chiptole Salad Bowl.

3. This too will pass: FOCUS for the moment. This too will pass. You need to do your best job at your present pursuit to make sure you’re giving your 120% and then some. Remember to be present and enjoy the process, you’ll be out of there soon.

2 thoughts on “I’m on the go again!

Leave a Reply

