How To Procrastinate and Get Nothing Done

Yes, that is a picture of me in game on Hearthstone, a game I’ve recently re-downloaded onto my phone and got semi hooked on. I lasted a maximum of 3 times in the Arena…after 40 or so hours invested in gameplay and yet still I have no Legendary Card? I give up.

So, since I can’t advice for productivity after wasting my own time, I’m going to advice for the opposite. I’m advising for procrastination instead.

Procrastination. Putting things off until the last minute, or putting things off indefinitely because:

The prospects of doing anything about the looming consequences are entirely too overwhelming and you do not even know where to start. It’s like cutting a perfectly circular cake, should I start to make an incision and therefore disrupt static perfection therefore induce chaos??!?

It’s better if I do nothing!

It’s not like life will keep moving on without you and that tasks won’t snowball. Now, if you’re under such impressions, then I recommend you the following in no particular order of distraction:

  1. Hearthstone
  2. Netflix
  3. YouTube
  4. Facebook
  5. Tumblr
  6. Email App on your phone

Now, if you recognize this in yourself and want to do something actually productive.

I say just shrug it off and start somewhere, even if it isn’t perfect or you aren’t completely comfortable with the idea. Comfort is an illusion. Comfort is something your brain made up so you don’t go for something better. Comfort is something you think you are sure about, but there’s no guarantee of such with the limited perspective each individual human are endowed with.

Again, it’s temporary relief from daily stress to distract yourself.

At the core of it, it isn’t solving any problems.

But since this is a post on procrastination, I’m going to put off ‘solving my problems’ until later and procrastinate on into the unknown…maybe the problems will fix themselves. Or so I would hope?

Leave a Reply

