How to make time for your passion?

“If you can’t do it in one day, do it every single day until you finish.”

It’s Monday, the last full week of February 2016.

It’s 2016, and I’m overwhelmed with work.

Currently, I like to think of my days as empty boxes, to be filled with blocks which are chunks of tasks that must be carried out.

Each day has 24 slots.

I knock out 10-12 slots normally for work, the other 14-12 are up to my disposal.

Then knock out 8 hours or theoretically speaking for sleeping, or worst case scenario 6 hours tossing and turning, 2 hours sleeping…rinse repeat.

I still have 6-4 hours at my disposal. (Though of course this is never perfect, car breaks down, dinner must be made, room cleaned, laundry done…)

Still, why not, even at the lowest threshold, apply ass to chair 4 hours a day / 7 days a week (despite that, given how we live in North America, this would be detrimental to my physical fitness…as one does not bike to work here like one would elsewhere) still.

Apply ass to chair 4 x 7 = 28 hours / week on your passions, something that actually inspires you, something you don’t have to be told to do.

That’s the equivalent of an part-time side job. Except, don’t think of it like that. If you can’t devote 100% of your time to something now, at least set the foundations and the grounds for something that can be built upon.

I was lucky enough to have fell into

It might seem impossible, if you only think, “I have so much to do…” without even beginning to categorize those things, “I have so much to do…” almost automatically equates to self pitying of ‘I can’t.’

However, if you reframe the problem and see the solution is: “28 hours” at the minimum. I don’t know about you, but I get really excited when I see “28 hours” of constructive time. And if you’re really passionate, you could go as far as 6 x 5 days weekdays + 10 x 12 days weekends (yes, just lock yourself in the house and work) = 54 hours / week at your disposal, especially when you deem everything else a waste of time. Then just do what you would rather do, be unapologetically you in your work.

How does that clock up per month?

28 – 54 hours

Screenshot 2016-02-21 00.53.13

So the next time, I or anyone try to bullshit themselves out of misery and say that ‘I can’t make time.’ I hope you remember this inconspicuous numbers chart that documents just how much ‘time’ one could make if one really wanted to.

And since today, denotes that I have 50 days until I take another break from this place. I will start implementing this ‘ass to chair’ technique at the maximum threshold as experiment to see how this technique holds up. So without further ado, let’s get to it.

Leave a Reply

