Why I’ve stopped paying attention to social issues.

I’ve stopped caring about social issues.

If those eager youth were lucky, they’d get around to: “Don’t you care what happens—” before I walk by faster before they could flag me down with their clipboards to get my name and email address and phone number so they could contact me for some sort of protest.

No. Frankly, I don’t care.

I don’t have the time.

I don’t have the energy.

But most importantly, I don’t see the point in something that’s more or less conformity. They might have a point in whatever they’re trying to convince you off – but here’s my point, I don’t have 30 minutes to shave off my life to listen.

As far as I’m concerned. When my time’s up, I’m gone.

And let’s be realistic here, what portion of NPOs’ funding actually goes to the cause?

The only legitimate reason for contributing would probably be for tax reasons, but not for sleeping better at night.

Either you care or don’t care doesn’t make you a better or worse person. Think of it as an interest, a hobby instead. It’s great if you’re into puppies, but if the next person isn’t, then don’t start trying to change the other person’s mind.

“How can you know about this and still eat meat, wear leather, or wear fur?”

Again, personal preference.

Yeah, not the most popular opinion as these causes are usually highly emotionally charged with daunting statistics to guilt you into submission. But it had to be said.

Do or do not, either way the problem will likely persist.

Yes, I’m a cynical realist.

 

2 thoughts on “Why I’ve stopped paying attention to social issues.

  1. Interesting, I’ve certainly see where you’re coming from. I tend to vacillate between optimism and cynicism. However, I would like to point out, mainly because of your emphasis on conformity, why you do not have 30 minutes to shave off. I suspect it is because you have work to do or someplace to be, as most of us do. However, is this because you are conforming to the social order? Moreover, are not most of the problems that we face systemic in nature? Thus, the ideas that social problems and the causes that aim to alleviate them (on whatever side) cannot be reduced to the individual. In other words, my personal preference in engaging in a certain practice must then also be seen as preferring whatever the outcome of that due to the systemic nature of things.

Leave a Reply

