Cologne, a hidden gem waiting to be explored

“Why did I take so long to visit this city, silly me.” was the thought that popped into my head when I stepped out of the Cologne Hauptbahnof and immediately into the shadow of the Cologne Dom. The Gothic architectural wonder built in 1248…

Screen Shot 2016-01-03 at 12.56.13 AM.png

(Cologne Cathedral. January 2. 2016. They built this in 1248? That’s 768 years ago!!! And this city has 2000 years of history??? How??????)

Oh yeah, so I stood in awe of the wonder that was the Gothic architecture for a whole while and of course I couldn’t capture the entire building for lack of proper photographic equipment. Nevertheless, my day began there and was quickly filled with hiding away from the rain, trying to check into my hostel before actual check-in time, having a few misunderstandings, meeting up with friends and laughing until I started wheezing. Yes. It was all good fun and of course as I walked around the city for the 4th time today, I was greeted by this sight.

DSC_7685-01

While it’s always a pleasure to see something in picture. There’s more to a place than a 2 dimensional picture. The Cologne Cathedral is one of those things I would bump up the travel list for its sheer grandeur. I was delightfully captivated and really a part of me still can’t believe I was fortunate enough to have seen it in person.

Leave a Reply

