Hello 2016!

It’s officially 2016 and I’m officially ready to get back to work!

While I was partying the night away in Amsterdam, naturally, someone asked me, what my ‘new year resolutions’ were – and the first thing that came to mind was, moving to Berlin in the summer of this year, however, there were many more goals that were not easy to express to someone whom you’d just met and spilling your hopes and dreams fifteen minutes before new year was not on the top of my priority list.

However, now, in the comfort of my hostel. I can articulate those unsaid hopes and dreams.

  1. Establish the vision you’d envisioned for yourself: this is incredibly vague to anyone but me, however, I know exactly what this meant, what needs to be done in order to achieve it. And the good news is, I have the exact mental image, and definitive time to measure process and progress. I have a mental image for everything, for what my future living area looks like, my wardrobe, my lifestyle, the types of people I surround myself with etc.
  2. Be kinder to yourself: Life is about progress and progression. What others might see as definite success might be a personal failure to the individual. I’ve also come to realize life is quite like a game of playing cards. There’s the hand you’re dealt, but then there’s also reshuffling the same hand to play them a different way – oh yes. It’s all about perspective. Dalai Lama XIV — ‘Remember that sometimes not getting what you want is a wonderful stroke of luck.’ so don’t stress.
  3. Be curious like a child: Over my travels, I’ve met various people from all over the world. There’s one certain person that made me reflect that perhaps attitude is everything. She’s a bit older than I am, though you could see it in her eyes, she’s always curious, always on the lookout for what I would think ‘new ideas’. She’s curious in the sense that there’s no fear of mistakes. It is more likely that she’ll laugh mistakes off and away than anything else. And right there, I can see that enthusiasm and zest for life is something many adults lack because they’ve accepted one lifestyle and can’t imagine their life as anything else.
  4. Believe life is magical: I remember the start of 2015 in Stockholm. Where I told myself 2015 is going to be a good year then proceeded to get very…very drunk. It turned out 2015 was a great year, despite confusions. And I’ve summarized why to the tunes of “do more things for yourself that makes sense for you”. A couple of hours ago, magic happened. Something that was purely accidental, but it made me smile nevertheless. It marked the start of 2016 and because of that symbolic moment 2016 is already better than 2015 in a lot of respects, not only that, 2016 is going to be my year, more so than 2015!!
  5. Believe in yourself: As I’ve said to myself, “if you can do this, do it repeatedly, then you can do anything.” If you believe something was ‘impossible’ then your best bet is to try it out and do it for yourself then your ‘impossible’ becomes ‘possible’. Yes, more and more I’m learning to trust my instincts, go after what I want, and not be disappointed or discouraged to try again and again then figure things out along the way. So, here’s to 2016! The best is yet to come!
7 thoughts on “Hello 2016!

  1. Wonderfully inspiring post! 2015 was good in so many ways and I anticipate even greater things in 2016. The reason, in part, for my outlook is a renewed confidence in my mental and physical strengths and because of my emotional and spiritual growth. I look forward to all that this year brings. Many blessings to you for 2016.

Leave a Reply

