when you let nothing get to you, then you’re absolutely free.

If you’re reading this: “So far, you’ve survived 100% of your worst days. Congratulations. Keep going.”

I saw the quote while scrolling through Instagram and found it motivational. I thought back to the times where I thought that I’ve failed at everything and that things were over. I still remember a time where I could not accept failure, criticism or personal responsibility. All the times I felt scared, so scared of what might happen that I couldn’t get myself to even take a step out of my room.

Fast forward to today. I realized, I survived because I dared to. I dared to try. I made moves, no matter how bad it seemed. I made choices. I moved on. And now looking back, I couldn’t really imagine my life without those choices, even if they weren’t the best of choices – even though the narrative doesn’t make much sense to other people – it makes sense to me. And looking back, without courage, being daring, making hard choices. I wouldn’t be where I am today.

So those bad days you survived should be seen as triumphs.

Those scar tissues you have, should be seen as marks of victory.

You’re here. You moved on to things, things bigger and better. Sometimes people fall together, other times they fall apart. It might be pleasant, unpleasant, but in the end, I promise it’ll make sense and you’d find your balance, your rhythm – because without all those failures pushing you in the right direction, you’d be stuck in perfectly concocted comfort, too proud to reach for something new.

One thought on “when you let nothing get to you, then you’re absolutely free.

Leave a Reply

