WOW Air, $99+ CAD fares to Europe from Toronto and Montreal, why I’m not entirely sold.

United, WestJet, Alaska, Virgin, Sprint…there are tons of airlines out there, however this morning, I woke up to an email that said $99 one way fares to Europe. Admittedly, it woke me up enough to fetch my laptop and google Wow Air.

Wow Air, an Icelandic discount airline, founded in the 2011 are offering deeply discounted fare to Europe for next summer. Imagine my excitement! However, seeing that I’m on the West Coast and not the East Coast, I did a little number crunching in my head (all before I’ve had coffee mind you) which amounted to the deal not being worth it for me. However, if you are from the East Coast, you might want to consider a few things as well, while fares starts at $99, that is the base cost of flying to Iceland only on the first leg out – however if you were to book return journey, the return journey often cost more than the $99, or $149. As sampled below with dummy dates from Berlin to Toronto back. Screen Shot 2015-10-01 at 8.14.50 AMAlso, deeply ‘discounted’ airlines often charge extra for luggage and meals (that’s why they’re deeply discounted) as is with the case for example with Norwegian Airlines, their most basic fare does not include checked baggages or meals, whereas other commercial Airlines offer upfront, like KLM or AirFrance. I’ve wrote about why it’s better to fly direct and now I’m inclined to investigate how much you’d save if you actually flew with a ‘discount’ airline vs. regular airline. In the meantime, if you’re on the East Coast and want to see Iceland or continental Europe for a steal, do check this deal out and if you end up traveling with WOW Air, or have traveled with them before, please leave a comment 🙂

Leave a Reply

