The horrors of ‘American’ restaurant food.

“Let’s eat nothing but American,” said my foreign friend with a bout of enthusiasm, sounding the beginning of sugar, salt and fat drenched two days of gluttony. An eye-opening two days of gluttony may I add (because there’s no way in hell I”m doing that again, and those two horrible days were enough to put me off of junk food forever.)

I don’t usually go out of my way to eat ‘American’ cuisine and when I do eat out, 99% of the time, I’m eating Sushi at a Japanese restaurant or even, Thai food (yummy veggies encased in rice paper wraps) things that are not high in sodium and definitely not ‘fried’.

And my typical diet at home consists of lots of yogurt, fruits, vegetables, fish moderate amount of carbs, and comparatively, very low amounts of sodium and saturated fat.

Now, two days in Seattle – it was kind of an eyeopener. Since, first of all, we didn’t get to make our own foods, at all due to our tight scheduling so it was to the nearest restaurant we go (I probably visited more restaurants than I had in the previous month). But here’s the shocking thing, almost everywhere I went, I found the food to be way too salty and sugary – and there’s almost an universal trend of bread on bread on more bread atrocity happening across the board (enough to give you a salt and carb overload headache, not to mention sluggishness, digestive issues and irritability…)

Prior to traveling to Seattle, I’d assumed the West Coast was very much vegetarian, hippie and yoga loving…doesn’t seem to be the case in Seattle (and perhaps it was because we’re in a rush, but we also didn’t see any salad bars, though I did spot a juicery near Pike Market.)

Not only that, the convenience stores we checked out, I saw a trend of soda being cheaper than bottled water. And what’s even more sickening is perhaps that a cucumber costs more than a packet of poptarts, with the wilted cucumber being 1.99 and the poptart being 0.99 (true story).

I used to think that I loved ‘junk food’ and the stuff wouldn’t ‘hurt’ but after two days of what seemed to be ‘nothing but’ nutritional atrocities committed, I have a different outlook on the matter. I don’t think I want to look at another burger, let alone eat one, ever again. And the next time a foreign friend suggests, ‘let’s eat nothing but American,’ I’ll politely opt out.

3 thoughts on “The horrors of ‘American’ restaurant food.

  1. Oh no! Even though I’m Canadian, our cultures are so similar that I feel like I need to comment. I promise we don’t all eat like that! It is true that healthy options are usually more expensive than boxed products, but many of us would rather pay the extra money than get the stomach ache that you unfortunately had to endure : (

    1. True, though I always find that in Canada there’s more variety to food, and good food. Especially on the west coast, namely Vancouver (which is a dine out heaven) there are just so many types of world cuisines you could chose from, and seafood there is always fresh. In Seattle, I found none of that for some reason, even though geographically the two cities are close together. It is lesson learned, I went to WholeFoods for dinner yesterday and loaded up on so much veggies and fruits. I’m going to do that again today. This trip definitely made me realize how important eating healthy is. 🙂

Leave a Reply

