take a spontaneous trip

It all started with a moment of boredom. I was on Facebook and eyeing the chat list half-heartedly. It was barely noon and I was taking a breather’s time to check my newsfeed. Then I saw a certain someone’s icon go green – ‘ah’. I’d meant to poke him before, why? Because I’d thought he’d gone MIA already, that he was traveling the West Coast before leaving for the East Coast and then his home country in Europe.

So then I thought to say a quick ‘hi’ and inquire about how he was doing.

Except the conversation turned out like this.

“I’m going to Seattle before I leave, come with?”

‘YES!’

A day trip – it was an easy thing to decide. Why? Because, I knew I needed a change of scenery, a change of perspective. There’s only so much of the same I can handle (and like I’ve told my friend, since I’ve been back, I’ve noticed yet another not so pretty, steady decline.) And this steady decline isn’t something working or money could compensate for, and a day trip isn’t something lengthy like a real vacation – take a personal day, get out for a while and recharge, make crazy memories that’d stick with you a lot longer than another day at the office, or wherever you work.

Trips excite me in the sense that, everything becomes an adventure. I’m more open on trips and excited about the prospects of experiencing things I’d never experience in my home city. The cool people I’m going to meet, and the things I would’ve otherwise missed if I was in an office all day.

I also like the fact that this trip is very much open, despite it would be me traveling with another person (for the first time in a long time I won’t be solo) and that it’d involve staying in a hostel (my first hosteling experience in North America, I do wonder how we stack up to hostels in Europe.) And this trip, it’s less about what I’m going to take away from in the physical sense that shopping is not on the list – its more about the experience, just being away, and enjoying the process. That said, I’m really longing for some time away from everything. Distance, after all, can be healthy.

2 thoughts on “take a spontaneous trip

  1. Wow. Good for you. I don’t think I’ve ever taken a spontaneous trip. Certainly not in recent memory. Maybe when I was young a foolish. Let us know how it goes!

Leave a Reply

