you are not alone

Recently, a coworker mentioned to me that she had no idea what to do with her life.

This is not a shocker to me in general, though, I was shocked to hear it from her. She’s one of those put together people. Personable, a natural born leader, and after working with her for months, I learned that she could’ve had that nice, cushy corporate job many would give up an arm and a leg for.

“I just quit. It wasn’t for me.” She says easily without pause.

I frowned, imagining how her life would be if she’d stuck with the other job, but then again, I also know, life is rarely as we plan. I shrugged and listened on, which she went on about her interest in pursuing something creative, though she didn’t know where to start.

This I could relate to as well.

To millennials there’s probably too many choices and it’s hard to weed out which path to take. Though, I did give her some sage advice.

“Just do it, you know many of the greatest creatives in the world never went for formal art education. They just did it themselves. Start somewhere and work for it.”

In which turn, she laughed it off. I’m not sure if this was due to humility or she thought the idea was a bit farfetched, but this whole exchange made me realize.

You just got to do what you got to do, even if it sounds crazy. We might all have that unconscious narrative that whispers what we really want. This is the narrative that pulls you off the wrong road (hopefully) before you end up somewhere too far from the main road.

If its always on your mind, you’re better off doing it, than stopping yourself and regretting it. 

As the saying goes, ‘I’d rather try and fail, than not try at all and always wonder.’

4 thoughts on “you are not alone

  1. I’m glad it’s OK to not have it all together. Just when I think I might have my stuff together, I find out I don’t. Flexibility and resiliency are the keys, I think. (I’m not so good at those, either!)

  2. I wrote a post that’s really similar to this one! I think it’s an important lesson for Millennials to learn. Plus, having it “all together” is a little boring anyway 🙂

Leave a Reply

