there’s a reason why ‘desserts’ is ‘stressed’ spelled backwards

I’m an addict.

In attempt to not fall to the floor, curl up and cry, I headed over to the nearest Starbucks for more coffee and…sugar.

Yes, yes. I’m sure by now we’ve all read our fair share of articles promoting healthy eating and if there’s something I’ve learned in my years of schooling – Theory =/= Practice.

And of course there’s the dreaded correlation factor, and before you think you could make it as an exception to the rule, statistics would have your self assessments hammered down flat: case and point, I was standing in line at Starbucks, wondering if I should get a grande Frappuccino and maybe a sugary glazed lemon scone – sugar.

My brain was under fire from the morning and parts of the afternoon. So much to do and so little time – suddenly, that packed lunch just didn’t seem palatable at all.

As I stood there, I noticed:

Everyone looked as tired as I was, if not more so.

And everyone’s so disconnected.

As if they’re automated cars just doing routine refills.

They take their drink, the first sip, like an addict getting that routine hit.

It played across my mind just as it was my turn in line.

I gave the barista a meek smile and turned around back to the lunchroom and congratulated myself for my lunchtime stroll.

3 thoughts on “there’s a reason why ‘desserts’ is ‘stressed’ spelled backwards

Leave a Reply

