why I’m wholeheartedly embracing minimalism

Recently, I showed my dad a video of Iceland and he didn’t understand.

“It’s so cold, wild and underdeveloped. Why would you ever want to go there?”

“Uh, because life?”

It was what I wanted to say, except then I shrugged. I want to minimize negativity and that includes useless arguments. I accepted we have different priorities and different goals in life.

I deem him successful. He is retired now. My parents are still happily married after thirty years. They have their myriad of inside jokes that I do not understand but I can say I’m truly happy for them.

They’re one of those happy couples that had gone through a lot together.

But I digress, while I have a lot of respect for him, he lacks the ability to see things from my perspective, hence, I won’t be listening to his advice.

One, he’s stuck in his generational goals and ideals.

Two, he can’t peer in my head and see what I know, how I feel and my goals and my views on happiness. It is pointless to explain as it makes him ‘uncomfortable’ and it always ends in a bitter argument (I’ve tried).

Three, he’s comfortable in his bubble, we come from very different perspectives.

I don’t want an apartment, nor a house, nor do I want to save and only have the savings ate away by inflation in the long-run. I just want to live. Why is that so hard to understand?

Is having a larger than you need house really necessary?

A larger than you need bed?

How about that closet bursting full of clothes?

When I was sleeping in bunks in Europe for a month, I lamented over how I missed my bed at home – and then I came home and now I couldn’t care less, really, it’s just a flat surface, albeit bigger – hence I told my Danish friend – ‘I volunteer to crash on your floor, I can provide my own makeshift pillows and sleep under my coat!’ (which I did, in Europe.)

Comfort is becoming more and more of a myth in my books. Things cost more than it should because of ‘added-value’ and as human beings we’re told we have to add-value to things in order to improve them, but do we really? How about we just go back to basics once in a while and appreciate what life really has to offer?

Nowadays, whenever I walk into a mall, I sort of cringe over how much ‘STUFF’ there is in the shops. Do we really need all that, or is it clever advertising to the point that people who do not follow suit are ostracized by the system of consumption.

“Oh, you’re one of those animal loving, vegan, hippie tree huggers aren’t you.”

“No. I’m not. I do enjoy eating a wide variety of foods, which includes meat if I can afford it. I’m just conscious about the environment and what I can do to live responsibly so that I’m leaning on the side of solution and not the side of problem. And I realize, this problem is more than just funnelling money to a foundation somewhere and let ‘management’ eat up all the funds they acquire and only have a portion of it going to the cause.”

So, what if there’s another solution, what if I can minimize everything and actually live WAY below my means (but even as I type this a part of me is wondering if I had gone completely nuts, yes, it’s hard to fight the system you’d been brought up with and stand alone, and who can forget that absolutely gorgeous $500 coat (half a plane ticket somewhere) I passed up on the other day…but then I also have at least five coats that’s equally as expensive and as fashionable in my closet…see, how in this simple example – buying more just doesn’t make sense anymore. I already have the things I need, hence I’m happy with it and myself.)

10 thoughts on “why I’m wholeheartedly embracing minimalism

  1. Embracing minimalism is a lovely idea. In my mid twenties I decided to embrace this idea. Why in the hell did I need fake eyelashes? Why did my hands and feet need to be manicured bi-weekly? Why so many designer heels? Why? I ended up donating the shoes and ditching the diva must haves. I ended up catching some heavy wanderlust. I donated and sold all of the designer crap I didn’t need and traded all of that for a renewed passport. You’re not crazy. Perhaps you find comfort in places that most people do not.

    1. Oh my, I think I might start doing the same. Because yeah sure it looks nice, but there’s too much ‘cost’ behind it all. Fashion’s created to make us feel ‘out of style’ that’s the Business of Fashion and now I see it as more harmful than ever. I mean really $5 for a Dress? How did it get that cheap? Someone had to suffer…but most remain ignorant.

      Owning too much stuff also ‘ground’ you, because you’ll just feel like you have too much to lose. You can’t ‘change’ easily, because you feel like all you have justifies for your ‘hard work’, ‘your time’ and ‘your life’. Again, that is flawed thinking.

      We just have the breaths in our lungs, one life. That’s it.

      Before I veer too far off course. Thank you for the comment though. It’s always nice to hear from someone who’s succeeded in kicking addiction to material goods. 🙂

  2. Parents understand way more than we know or give credit for. We feel like they don’t understand because they’re from a different time, but then you reach their age and your kid 20 years younger looks at you and says, “oh you don’t understand”, but little do they know that you ‘exactly’ understand. It’s a cycle that repeats itself. He just knows you’ll catch up one day and he’s cool with that. Never discount his advice. Good luck with the minimalist life. Remember most minimalists don’t waste money on wifi either haha.

  3. Serious about this minimalism? Make a list of everything you have to have… toothbrush, 1 coat, sweater, three shirts, 2 pair shoes, etc. Get rid of everything else. Pack everything you are keeping in one bag, walk out the door and flip a coin. Heads you go left, tails you go right – and then go and don’t look back. You won’t regret it.

Leave a Reply

