real work begins

How does your day end?

Does it end in a sigh that’d been held since you got to the office? Or does it end on a scramble around the office with your palms out, a high-five to each coworker as you leave the office glorious.

These are just two brief imagined scenarios.

Which one do you lean towards?

Regardless, of how you answered, now with a day’s work behind you. I want you to ask yourself – what now?

Afterwork.

The hours between the now and until you’re ‘on’ once more. Regardless of how your day ended, you are now more entitled to your time than ever, having done your ‘time’ at work – how you ‘spend’ your ‘hours’ now are crucial.

After all, you’ve just spent 8 hours or more working on something that may or may not align with what you want out of life – hence the next few hours are crucial: time to work on what you really want. You have no time to lament or dwell on what’d happened at work, because now the topic’s not only different but requires your outmost attention.


You and the vision you have.

You and the goals you’ve set.

You and the dreams no one else but you could see.

There’s no use in telling the stories over and over again.

The time is now. Take action and make every second count towards a better future.

2 thoughts on “real work begins

  1. I’ve always tried to use my time wisely because I know it’s a gift. After work, I usually cook a meal for my family, tidy the house and since it’s summer and really warm I wait until 7 or after for my fitness routine. Currently I’m training for another 5k in the fall. I also read a lot. I’m currently teaching a group of women on Wednesday nights so I prepare for that. One thing I’ve learned is how important it is to just “be available” to my family. My teenagers want to talk at random times which is very important to me. Sometimes I have to drop my plans to be there for them when needed. I wouldn’t have it any other way.

    1. I’m glad that you found a balance that makes you truly happy 🙂 I find that it’s easy for me to get too obsessed with one task and lose sight of another and exclude social time. But hey, you live, you learn, right?

Leave a Reply

