counterintuitive rest: 28 days

On Friday, I took a break.

It might be counterintuitive to imagine, a break in the middle of a tight schedule, just who has the time for that and is that really a smart idea given the time restraints?

Most people think when they set a goal, they have to work tirelessly towards that goal and weed out unnecessary tasks, tasks that often are connected to our personal relationships and emotional wellbeing.

I don’t agree with that method, as after all, we’re human, not machine.

So on Friday, I took a break and decided to have sit down dinner with my parents, something we have not done in a long time.


I didn’t think of it as a waste of time, nor did I rush. I enjoyed the conversations and savoured the food. Surprisingly, this simple task, when made scarce gave me more appreciation about sitting down and having dinner with family than ever before. Afterwards, I felt relaxed, more prepared for everything else.

Which brings us to today, a morning run outside and a quick meet up with a friend and now this blog post before I move on to other things. Of course, there’s always a sense of urgency in completing a project, however, we should never let this sense of urgency override connection to others, a sense of happiness, as true productivity is not just about moving a project forward, but it’s about moving ‘you’ forward as well. Remember that.

2 thoughts on “counterintuitive rest: 28 days

  1. I agree. Our relationships are most important and we have to take time to nurture them. Even in the midst of busy seasons. I’m so glad you had the time with your parents. How wonderful!!

Leave a Reply

