Maybe it’s not the place you miss, but the memories and inevitably the people…or person.

Maybe it’s not the place you miss, but the memories and inevitably the people…or person. Almost as if, out of a dream, that stranger who comes up you – little do they know they’re about to leave an impression you’ll spend days, weeks, months remembering. 

That one person that made you feel something, made you smile, no matter how brief it was. It was encoded in your memories, and somehow it seeped into your heart and steeped. Something quite unexpected, quite unrequited, something you just don’t know what to do about.

I’ve been thinking a lot of Amsterdam as of late, the people there I’ve gotten to know over my travels and my friends. What are they up to and inevitably, that one person I happened to meet so long ago and for whatever reason I still think of.  Wondering if circumstances were different, could we have been something else…though I know, most likely, I’ll never get my answer to that question.

One thought on “Maybe it’s not the place you miss, but the memories and inevitably the people…or person.

Leave a Reply

