What is that 1 thing?

This might sound like a cliche, but lately I’ve been thinking about that question more and more. What is that ONE thing you will regret if you didn’t do your entire life? Or, simply put, if you only had 24 hours to live? What would suddenly be pushed to the forefront behind all these excuses and responsibilities other people imposed on you?

What would be something you regret?

I tried answering this question and I know there’s no correct or incorrect answer to this question. Everyone is different after all. But what it came down to is – letting other people decide on what you want and need rather than being your own true authentic self.

My regret: not being me.

The discovery in itself is purely accidental, unconventional if you will. After discovering this recording artist from Sweden whom I have come to idolize fanatically. I begin to dissect her message – not only in her ‘act’ but also in her music and her expression. I noticed a few things, the reason why I idolize her is because she’s very authentic to herself, very open minded and very unapologetic.

We like things we identify with and aspire to be. Then it is as if a lightbulb went off in my head – the reason why I idolize certain individuals however conscious or unconsciously is because in some ways I identify with them and in some ways, they’re what I aspire to be.

6 thoughts on “What is that 1 thing?

  1. So how can you move in the direction of your aspirations? How can you present your true self more often? What is one situation you usually feel like you’re fake? What would make you less so? Only you can answer those questions and begin becoming yourself. I do believe creativity is a key to that power. Express yourself without concern for what others think. Maybe show others your expression, maybe not. But express yourself anyway. At least show yourself what you really think and feel. When you become more comfortable with it, you’ll find it easier to be yourself with others, too.

    1. Thank you for the suggestions. That’s the conclusion I arrived at also. In the past I’m known to appease the situation and others because I didn’t want to offend or hurt them or be the odd one out and judged but at the same time, it isn’t what I wanted to do with my life and I always wished I was more assertive in the way I handled myself, not afraid to say ‘no’.

Leave a Reply

