Finding ‘Lagom’

cinnamon buns from IKEA – photo credit: onegirlsjourneytofreedom

Lagom, a Swedish word that roughly translate to ‘enough’ or ‘sufficient amount’ has become a word I’ve come to adopt in my day to day life. It’s a word that made me rethink life. If I were to strip-away the hustle and bustle required in this consumption driven, image obsessed and social media dominated world – what would I actually need? What is the actual ‘cost’ of living, when you don’t care for appearances sake (kind of like simpler days back in elementary school)?

This will be my challenge of February – even though it doesn’t really feel like a challenge after the quick and almost painless decision I’ve made that this city, in the 2.5 weeks that I’ve been back offered me no ‘growth’ nor ‘excitement’. What this city offered however was longing, longing for something more – a desire for change. Take everything I’ve realized and learned in Scandinavia and pursue my own goals and interestingly enough, ‘going out’ every weekend, or going out at all isn’t on my priority list.

What I’m more interested in is how much it takes for me to ‘survive’ in this city. Since what I’m looking for is not ‘comfort’ since no amount of ‘comfort’, either in gourmet cuisines, expensive clothes, or alcohol can dull the ache for something more ‘authentic’ something ‘me’ – I’m just going to give that all up, turn off social media, shrug off all suggestions blasted at me by other people and be ‘me’ unapologetically for a month to see what is ‘sufficient’ – ‘just the right amount’ for myself.

Leave a Reply

