the mini escapist plan – learning to relax

“Just imagine, you’re completely free – no responsibilities, no worries for one day, what would you do?”

This is something I’d dreamt up while working. Yeah, the feeling is sort of like something a prisoner might have when he peers out of the metal bars of his cell-block window and at the ghostly full moon. Except the prisoner is probably not having one non-stopping trainwreck of a thought that goes like ‘Ugh I have a report due on a topic I have absolutely no knowledge in, better research now…well soon as possible…ugh why couldn’t people in my group pick something that’s actually up my alley. I wonder what I’ll have for lunch. I wonder if I’m getting too much sugar and not enough protein…ugh I only have 8 days until that midterm, ugh better study on top of researching…oh I better get off instagram…’

Cue to clenching and unclenching your fists and forgetting that sacred yoga breathing technique. Yeah, total freakout, and that actually sums up my day pretty well. One big gigantic monologue that plays on like a satirical comedy show I might actually tune in during the evening, i.e The Lackluster Life of a statistically insignificant Gen Y. Except then, this Gen Y-er like possibly many many other Gen Y-er dreams up something even crazier than her thought vomit.

She says, hey, wait a minute. ‘If freedom’s all I want, why don’t I just be free’?

At first I’d thought this question would be easy to answer as I sit stuck in the office, eying the photocopier as it spews out the 400th something piece of pristine white A4 paper. What would I do?

If you had complete freedom to do as you wish for an entire day (within the confines of criminal law, and the realm of earthly possibilities of course) how would you spent it? What’s the first thing you’d do?

Then it hit me, the first thing I’d do is nothing related to achievement or even money matters, the first thing I’d do if I was completely free would be:

STOP WORRYING

Take everything one day at a time, tackle obstacles one at a time, even if there are 10000000 things to be done. Enjoy the process to the best of your abilities and breathe. Then the rest should come easily to you, because after you freed yourself from the shackles of assumed ‘stress’ and ‘responsibility’ of adulthood then you can step away from everything and see yourself from a different perspective – or through all the noise – you’ll not only renew your soul but you’ll also see the world anew.

I tried this and thought, you know, that’d be great. If I stopped trying to prevent imagined worst case scenarios my overactive imagination had painted then I’d just go out for a walk, maybe a run, pick up a few grocery items and cook up a nice meal to enjoy slowly and not just shove it and eat it like I do at work, then go out and socialize with other people without feeling guilty about it because there are certain things relating to work that needs to be done, or dreading the fact that I’d need to be somewhere I don’t want to be in the next 12 hours or so. That said, this is exactly what I’m going to do tomorrow – hurray day off, hurray Friday.

Leave a Reply

